Hero Image

Contact Us

Office Information

Sutter-Yuba Counties
Cooperative Extension Sutter-Yuba Counties
142A Garden Highway
Yuba City, CA 95991-5512
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Fax: (530) 673-5368
Email: sutteryuba@ucanr.edu

Director

Photo of Dr Whitney B Brim-Deforest
Dr Whitney B Brim-Deforest
Title: County Director, Sutter and Yuba Counties and CE Rice and Wild Rice Advisor
Specialty: Rice, Weeds
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu

Advisors

Photo of Sarah E Light
Sarah E Light
Title: Agronomy Farm Advisor
Specialty: Alfalfa/Hay, Beans, Wheat, Corn, Sorghum, Sunflower, Safflower, Hemp, Soil Health, Cover Crops, Agronomy, Annual Cropping Systems in the Sacramento Valley.
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Email: selight@ucanr.edu
Photo of Clarissa A Reyes
Clarissa A Reyes
Title: Orchard Systems Advisor
Specialty: Plant-water relations, drought physiology; walnut, peach, kiwifruit
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: clareyes@ucanr.edu
Photo of Ricky P Satomi
Ricky P Satomi
Title: Forestry/Natural Resources Advisor
Specialty: Forest Management, Geographic Information Systems, Biomass
Phone: 530-822-6213
Email: rpsatomi@ucanr.edu

Cross-County Advisors

Photo of Sudan Gyawaly
Sudan Gyawaly
Title: Integrated Pest Management Advisor
Specialty: IPM
Phone: (530) 552-5812
Email: sgyawaly@ucanr.edu
Photo of Betsy M Karle
Betsy M Karle
Title: Dairy Advisor & County Director
Specialty: preweaned calf management, antimicrobial stewardship, environmental sustainability
Phone: (530) 865-1156
Email: bmkarle@ucanr.edu
Photo of Daniel K Macon
Daniel K Macon
Title: County Director, Livestock and Natural Resources Advisor
Specialty: Rangeland livestock production, economics, and management
Phone: 530-889-7385
Email: dmacon@ucanr.edu
Photo of Franz J.A. Niederholzer Ph.D.
Franz J.A. Niederholzer Ph.D.
Title: Farm Advisor   Orchard Systems
Specialty: Prunes, almonds, pears, apple, cherry, olive, plum, citrus, and pomegranate
Phone: (530) 458-0570
Email: fjniederholzer@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Matthew Rodriguez
Dr Matthew Rodriguez
Title: 4-H Youth Development Advisor (Nevada, Placer, Sutter, Yuba)
Specialty: Family science and father-child involvement.
Phone: 530-889-7391
Email: mrro@ucanr.edu
Photo of Veronica L Van Cleave-Hunt
Veronica L Van Cleave-Hunt
Title: Community Nutrition, Health and Food Security Advisor
Email: vvancleavehunt@ucanr.edu

4-H Youth Development Program

Photo of Rene McCrory
Rene McCrory
Title: 4-H Secretary
Phone: 5308227515
Email: rjmccrory@ucanr.edu
Photo of Mary Zoller
Mary Zoller
Title: 4-H Community Education Specialist
Phone: 530-458-0570
Email: mzoller@ucanr.edu

Nutrition Education (CalFresh)

Photo of Melissa Pahli Ussery
Melissa Pahli Ussery
Title: Nutrition Program Supervisor
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: melvang@ucanr.edu
Photo of Mr Adam Yandel
Mr Adam Yandel
Title: Community Education Specialist ll
Specialty: Garden Nutrition Education
Phone: 530-902-0275
Email: ayandel@ucanr.edu

Master Gardener Program

Photo of Cheryl Hoke
Cheryl Hoke
Title: Community Education Specialist
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: cahoke@ucanr.edu

Staff

Photo of Clair Akin
Clair Akin
Title: Cover Crop Tool Selection Coordinator
Email: cmakin@ucanr.edu
Photo of Consuelo B Baez Vega
Consuelo B Baez Vega
Title: Rice Junior Specialist
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: cbbaezvega@ucanr.edu
Photo of Troy L Clark
Troy L Clark
Title: Rice Junior Specialist
Email: tclark@ucanr.edu
Photo of Taiyu Guan
Taiyu Guan
Title: Assistant Specialist
Email: tyguan@ucanr.edu
Photo of Sierra Jefferson
Sierra Jefferson
Title: Office Assistant l
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Email: snjefferson@ucanr.edu
Photo of Heather Montgomery
Heather Montgomery
Title: Climate Smart Agriculture Community Education Specialist III
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: hmontgomery@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Jaskirat Pandher
Jaskirat Pandher
Title: Ag Technician
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: jspandher@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Shilpi Pandit
Shilpi Pandit
Title: Office Assistant I - Extra Help
Email: spandit@ucanr.edu
Photo of Austin Roughton
Austin Roughton
Title: Forestry Youth Education Coordinator
Specialty: Education
Email: airoughton@ucanr.edu
Photo of Michele Searcy
Michele Searcy
Title: Executive Secretary / Office Manager
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Email: mlsearcy@ucanr.edu

Emeritus

Photo of Janine K Hasey
Janine K Hasey
Title: Tree Crop and Environmental Horticulture Advisor Emeritus, Master Gardener Advisor
Specialty: Pomology, Horticulture, Master Gardener Program
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Email: jkhasey@ucanr.edu
Photo of Heidi Hudgins
Heidi Hudgins
Title: Master Gardener Program Volunteer
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: hahudgins@ucanr.edu
Photo of Glenn A Nader
Glenn A Nader
Title: Farm Advisor   Livestock and Natural Resources, Emeritus
Specialty: Livestock, forage crops, range and natural resources
Email: ganader@ucanr.edu