Hero Image

Contact Us

Office Information

Sutter-Yuba Counties
Cooperative Extension Sutter-Yuba Counties
142A Garden Highway
Yuba City, CA 95991-5512
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Fax: (530) 673-5368
Email: sutteryuba@ucanr.edu

Director

Photo of Dr Whitney Brim-DeForest
Dr Whitney Brim-DeForest
Title: County Director, Sutter and Yuba Counties and CE Rice and Wild Rice Advisor
Specialty: Rice, Weeds
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu

Advisors

Photo of Sarah Light
Sarah Light
Title: Agronomy Farm Advisor
Specialty: Alfalfa/Hay, Beans, Wheat, Corn, Sorghum, Sunflower, Safflower, Hemp, Soil Health, Cover Crops, Agronomy, Annual Cropping Systems in the Sacramento Valley.
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Email: selight@ucanr.edu

Cross-County Advisors

Photo of Betsy M. Karle
Betsy M. Karle
Title: Dairy Advisor & County Director
Specialty: preweaned calf management, antimicrobial stewardship, environmental sustainability
Phone: (530) 865-1156
Email: bmkarle@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dan Macon
Dan Macon
Title: County Director, Livestock and Natural Resources Advisor
Specialty: Rangeland livestock production, economics, and management
Phone: 530-889-7385
Email: dmacon@ucanr.edu
Photo of Franz J.A. Niederholzer Ph.D.
Franz J.A. Niederholzer Ph.D.
Title: Farm Advisor   Orchard Systems
Specialty: Prunes, almonds, pears, apple, cherry, olive, plum, citrus, and pomegranate
Phone: (530) 458-0570
Email: fjniederholzer@ucanr.edu
Photo of Amber Vinchesi-Vahl Ph.D.
Amber Vinchesi-Vahl Ph.D.
Title: Area Vegetable Crops Advisor
Specialty: Entomology, Integrated Pest Management, Pollinators, Insect-vectored diseases, vegetable crops, soilborne fungal pathogens, processing tomatoes, muskmelons, cucumber beetle
Phone: (530)-458-0575
Email: acvinchesi@ucanr.edu

4-H Youth Development Program

Photo of Nicole Marshall-Wheeler
Nicole Marshall-Wheeler
Title: 4-H Youth Development Advisor
Phone: 530-458-0570
Email: nmarshall@ucanr.edu
Photo of Rene McCrory
Rene McCrory
Title: 4-H Secretary
Phone: 5308227515
Email: rjmccrory@ucanr.edu

Nutrition Education (CalFresh)

Photo of Conner Thomson
Conner Thomson
Title: Community Education Specialist
Email: cjthomson@ucanr.edu
Photo of Melissa P Ussery
Melissa P Ussery
Title: Nutrition Program Supervisor
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: melvang@ucanr.edu

Master Gardener Program

Photo of Heidi Hudgins
Heidi Hudgins
Title: Master Gardener Program Volunteer
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: hahudgins@ucanr.edu

Staff

Photo of Michele Searcy
Michele Searcy
Title: Executive Secretary
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Email: mlsearcy@ucanr.edu

Emeritus

Photo of Janine K Hasey
Janine K Hasey
Title: Tree Crop and Environmental Horticulture Advisor Emeritus, Master Gardener Advisor
Specialty: Pomology, Horticulture, Master Gardener Program
Phone: (530) 822-7515
Email: jkhasey@ucanr.edu
Photo of Glenn A Nader
Glenn A Nader
Title: Farm Advisor   Livestock and Natural Resources, Emeritus
Specialty: Livestock, forage crops, range and natural resources
Email: ganader@ucanr.edu

Staff

Photo of Taiyu Guan
Taiyu Guan
Title: Assistant Specialist
Email: tyguan@ucanr.edu